About Us

Our office is responsible for conducting all elections held in Beaufort County. Locally, we administer State election laws. Our principal functions include establishing election precincts and voting sites, appointing and training precinct officials, preparing and distributing ballots, voting equipment, canvassing and certifying the ballots cast in elections, and investigating any voting irregularities. We maintain voter registration for Beaufort County and provide public information on voters and elections.

Each County in North Carolina has a Board of Elections. It is a three person board which is appointed every two years by the State Board of Elections.  North Carolina General Statute 163-30 states “The State chairman of each political party shall have the right to recommend to the State Board of Elections three registered voters in each county for appointment to the board of elections for that county. If such recommendations are received by the Board 15 or more days before the last Tuesday in June 1985, and each two years thereafter, it shall be the duty of the State Board of Elections to appoint the county boards from the names thus recommended.”


The local political parties will submit three names to the State political party chairman.  Once appointed, County Board members take an oath and begin their two year terms Tuesday following the third Monday in July in odd-numbered years. No more than two members of the County Board of Elections shall belong to the same political party.  The Board overseas the functions of our offices and hires a Director to administer all duties.



2015-2017 Board Members

Jay McRoy, Chairman

John B. Tate, III, Secretary

Thomas S. Payne, III, Member


Kellie Harris Hopkins, Director

Anita Bullock Branch, Deputy Director

Scott Sheppard, Election Specialist




Pictured Left to Right: Marty Paramore, Beaufort County Clerk of Court, Thomas S. Payne III, Member, John B. Tate III, Secretary, and Jay McRoy, Chariman